New Institutional members of the Academy

We are proud to announce that The Arctic University of Norway (UiT), the University of Nordland (UiN) and the Norwegian Shipowners’ Association (NSA) have joined the Norwegian Scientific Academy for Polar Research as institutional members.

Our institutional members offer their support to achieve the overall goals of the academy, which is to:

  • Promote research and education in polar areas.
  • Stimulate national and international cooperation and interdisciplinary polar research.
  • Contribute to the communication of the knowledge of Polar Regions and the people who live there to national and international governing bodies, industry and the public.
  • Contribute to the understanding of environmental and climate change and human activities that affect and are affected by these.
  • Promote sustainable development on Svalbard and in northern regions.
  • Contribute to the development of expertise at the University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS) and the polar scientific community in general.

Institutional members will support the work of the Academy through annual contributions. Institutional members are admitted to the board meetings as observers with rights to speak and to provide recommendations and proposals. The Academy is a non-profit foundation. We extend our warm appreciation to the heads of our new institutional members, the rector of UiT, Anne Husebekk (top picture), the rector of UiN, Pål Pedersen (in the middle), and the Chief executive officer of NSA, Sturla Henriksen (bottom).

Reminder: Proposing new members

All members of the Academy are encouraged to propose new members. Members should be internationally recognized scientists who has done independent scientific work in polar research or who specifically have contributed to the advancement of polar research. The membership of the Academy shall reflect the breadth of discipline areas within polar research.

See the Academy’s main webpage, “Proposals for 2014” for details. Proposals should be forwarded to the Academy’s Secretary General, e-mail